MG-Rover.org Forums banner

DIY Foglight Wiring Loom

24K views 32 replies 14 participants last post by  DavesZed 
#1 · (Edited)
Phew! Finished (well.. practically finished) my foglight wiring loom, built from scratch apart from a pair of Rover 75 bulb connectors - just a few minor connections to make and it's done, but midges got the better of me tonight.

I started off building a smaller test loom (below) before satisfying myself that it worked, and have now scaled it up. Further pics and How To to follow... :)

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
HOW TO DIY YOUR FOG LIGHT WIRING LOOM

Comments and suggestions are welcome, detailed pics will be inserted over next couple of days, but let me know if there's anything I need to show in more detail - bear in mind I am a complete amateur at this! Note also that I am wiring mine as 'standard' - the foglights will only operate if your lights are switched on, so you can't swan around with just your foglights on using this build. If you want that, you need to take a positive feed from a permanently live wire rather than the sidelight wire highlighted below. The following assumes you have sourced and fitted the foglights and brackets to the bumper, but let me know if you need any advice for that (dead easy).

Shopping List

Rover 75 fog light loom - paid £20 off ebay for mine, free from scrappy (check connectors match that shown in pics below, other Rover/Landrover looms may be suitable)
Front Fog light Switch
Relay (I used the older chunky yellow relay YWB10012 as it fits into the mounting bracket)
Relay Mounting Bracket/bolt for mounting
17amp wire (Halfords) I used just red and black but coloured would be useful for tracing
Male/female spade connectors (large enough to fit relay posts, approx 6-7mm wide, and switch posts, approx 3-4mm)
Earth ring connectors
Scotch clips (temporary measure only - replace these with 'proper' connectiors, e.g. soldering or piggyback spade connectors at earliest opportunity)