General How To.... Diagnose a K Series Head Gasket Failure - Page 3 - MG-Rover.org Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 843 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #41 of 264 (permalink) Old 20-09-2008, 17:55

Car: 825 Coupe
Send a message via Yahoo to thecannyman
Butting in on this..

I am new to this Rover KV6 HGF phenomena but a victim nevertheless!. I have no idea where to get this Exp Tank Cap but I stripped mine, cleaned and replaced the cap finding the breather part was blocked and not seating properly, allowing leakage at normal temp and pressure. However for piece of mind I need a spare.

I also replaced Thermostat and radiator and did a pressure test and gas test all to no avail; IT STILL OVERHEATS.

Now I suspect the Water Pump as when I put the heater on to MAX the car does not overheat. This suggests to me that if it runs cool when the heat is being dumped (on passengers) then the flow through rad etc is not capable.

Has anyone any idea how to test the pump as it looks a nighmare to access it.

wamso
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjy400 View Post
Thanks for that, I'm hoping its just a case of cap and fan as previously mentioned, the gauge is always just below middle which was throwing me a bit, I assumed it would read high if the water was boiling. It happened yesterday when it was really hot weather and I'd been pootling around town for about 20 mins which makes me think its the fan.

Can you advise the best place to get a replacement cap? Is it as simple as a quick visit to Halfrauds?

Lastly, does the diesel engine suffer from this problem as I'm eying up a 400 SLD and don't want to be faced with this problem if I change!!

Thanks again for the info and quick reply!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #42 of 264 (permalink) Old 21-09-2008, 10:35 Thread Starter
Never forgotten

Car: Other Manufacturer. Previously - more Rovers than I care to remember.