No AWD for UK - 2WD only - Page 4 - MG-Rover.org Forums
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #61 of 92 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 10:33

Car: Audi TT 225 Quatrro
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8NMG View Post
One of those typical arrogant statement
One of those typical arrogant replies indeed.

For what its worth I hold several professional driving qualifications and Im a certified test driver for several car brands. Part of my job is to support the testing and fault finding of vehicles that are nearing commercial release with a manufacturers own design and quality team, providing an independent fresh set of eyes. This is especially true when Ive performed contract or consultancy work on the vehicle or system in question. Most recently my work has been with the GM group.

Ive spent a significant amount of time driving in winter conditions both in the UK and in Finland, Norway and Sweeden testing everything from 100bhp FF city cars to 500bhp monsters. These countries both suffer more extreme weather than the UK and yet AWD or 4X4 is not a particuarly common site.

There has never been a situation in a rear or front wheel drive car in the snow thats ever caused me to think "needed 4x4". Only in SPECIFIC AWD/4x4 testing cases have I ever encountered such a situation.

I lived on the very hilly rural outskirts of Sheffield the past 3 years and used to regularly drive over both the pennines and dales in bad conditions. With the correct attention, driving skill and correct tyres and pressures there should never be a situation where you get yourself into a situation where 4x4 is a "must".

Believe me after two years of driving an RX8 231 up and down a un-gritted road near me which is on a steep incline leading to my home Im very familiar with the challenges in the UK. Winter tyres and proper manual clutch control are all you need.
patpending likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #62 of 92 (permalink) Old 06-05-2016, 13:09