A non Rover owning midlander speaks... - MG-Rover.org Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2005, 12:43 Thread Starter

Car: Other Manufacturer
Smile A non Rover owning midlander speaks...

I have to say that I have only ever owned one Rover and to be honestt hat put me off for life, but please don't be offended as i have watched with great concern the unraveling of Rover.

I am a Brummie and unlike most proud of my Midlands heritage, I am a trained engineer and have a fascination with cars. I studied at university the BMW years and wrote thesis on Rover and the development fo the company.

As I mentioned earlier I am not a particular fan of Rovers, I have always seen them as old people cars but as they have reinvented each model I found myself surprised that they were still going and in some way proud I guess. Rover is the typical tale of a British company which has fought on throughout countless years of underinvestment. I would hate to see Rover dissappear and certainly have no problem with tax payers money going towards sorting them out in a permenant and practical way.

What seems to fox me is the fact that no one can see the simple problem, they need new models. This is the only thing Rover need, a great new car that will sell but this seems to be lost on the money men. Its to our own disgrace that we as consumers i guess have allowed ourselves to be tempted awy by the best Germany has had to offer. I bought a Smart car and run a Smart owners club www.smartz.co.uk but the simple truth is Smart are doing little better than Rover, Mercedes made only 32 million last year thats a drop of 97%.

The car market is going into meltdown, and I feel Rover will be only the first casualty, yet I do pray that a buyer can be found and I for one would certainly consider buying one of the new breed should they ever make it into production.

Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-04-2005, 12:53