MG-Rover.org Forums banner

Hi all, just bought a r25 td, need cam belt advice

2K views 37 replies 8 participants last post by  Yorkshirerider2 
#1 ·
Hi all, I'm Iain from Leeds, I've owned a lot of Austin and rover cars, I currently have 3 metros

Anyhow I e just bought a 2005 diesel, was a bargain!

The cars done 88500 miles, but no history, so as it will be a daily and I look after my cars, I want it spot on

So I've no idea when the timing belt was changed, so I want to change this, the pulley and tensioner and water pump

Question is, I've never done o e before, the Haynes manual seems ok, but wondered if anyone has any knowledge on this? Also does anyone/anywhere sell the whole kit (Ie pulley belt pump etc)

All your help is much appreciated

Thanks

Iain

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum :welcome:

Recommended cam belt change interval for the L series diesel is 48k miles or four years; if you have no record of when they were last done, it is cerainly a good idea to change them for peace of mind.

Complete service kits should be available from any XPart agent, or motor factors. DMGRS (an mg-rover.org trader supporter) has Dayco kits for mail order: - L Series Engine Parts | Discount MG Rover Spares

You will probably find a lot of good advice in the diesel subforum :)

#3 · (Edited)
The water pump on the L series diesel is driven by the auxiliary drive belt (through the PAS pump) and can be changed without disturbing the camshaft drive belt. So it is not necessary to replace it when changing the camshaft drive belt - you can just wait until it fails. I would expect the existing pump to outlast the camshaft drive belt you will shortly be fitting.

You do however want to be replacing the Fuel Injection Pump drive belt at the same time as the camshaft drive belt.

#9 ·