Fitting Front Poly Bushes on a TF 'How To' - do as much as I can remember... - MG-Rover.org Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 23-02-2011, 14:27 Thread Starter

Car: TF160VVC'02+SachsB805
Fitting Front Poly Bushes on a TF 'How To' - do as much as I can remember...

I may well have missed out some bits here, but they will be ovbious bits, feel free to add advice from one and all!
This job entails removing the subframe to be able to remove the wishbones.
If I have any wrong phraseology or am just calling things by the wrong name, please shout out, im no mechanic, just over enthusiastic.

First step is jack the car up, people suggest four axle stands, I only had two I trusted so only jacked up the front of the car, mounting axle stands on the jacking points, and jacking the car from the sub frame. Do not try to jack the car the either side of the jacking points as the crease in the weld is the only strong point. May be tricky with anything over a two ton trolly jack as you struggle to get them under the car, I had a two ton as well as a 10, but used a small jack out of another car, but you will figure out a way.

Once the car is jacked up onto axle stands, remove wheels, front bumper (may not be neccesary), and begin making sure that all bolts you will be removing are well and truly covered in whatever releasing chemical you choose.
I used 'Frost Bite', its all I could get my hands on, people on this forum suggest PlusGas to be the best.

Photo I took earlier in the day while fitting my TTmk4 at a friends garage, sadly didnt have use of the ramps for this job tho...
So, soak the nuts and bolts, heat a bit if you wish, I didnt.