MGTF-Turbo - MG-Rover.org Forums
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 63 (permalink) Old 10-01-2016, 00:40 Thread Starter

Car: MG TF and Mercedes C220 CDI Sport
Red face MGTF-Turbo

Hi Everyone I am new to the forum but have has my TF for 2 years now, I was considering getting rid of it and upgrading to something a little faster, problem is both me and my wife love the thing so I have decided to convert it from a 160VVC to a 1.8 200ish BHP turbo.

This is basically going to be my build thread from start to finish, I have been collecting bits for the conversion over the past few months.

This should be a very interesting project and I have had people saying it can't be done it will over heat etc.. etc.., most of the people who say tripe like that have never held a spanner and are frightened to take on projects in case they fail.

I am no expert engineer or mechanic, but can apply common sense and logic to problems.

Anyway enough rambling here is where the car is at currently and a bit of its history:

When we bought the car 2 years ago it was a bit of a mess but the engine was solid, head gasket had been done and it have with a tonne of service history.

Cracked Front Bumper

Cracked Rear Bumper

Interior Moldy and wet
http://formula1store.co.uk/wp-conten...208_155409.jpg

various panel damage

We used the car for the first summer in this condition, last winter I decided to start bringing the car back it its former glory. and after many weekends of work here is how the car looks now.

List of jobs done
  • Calipers Painted
  • Worn Drivers front seat replaced
  • Centre console painted in glass black (Le500 style)
  • LE500 gear knob
  • Mike Satur Roll Bars and Wind Stop
  • New Front and Rear Bumpers
  • Sound Deadened Both Doors
  • New sound system and component speakers
  • LED number plate and foot well lights
  • Fitted Toyo Proxies
  • Leather covered Centre console Gear knob and handbrake cover with orange stitching