MG-Rover.org Forums banner

DIY hydrolastic pump..

13K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  MGFmad 
#1 ·
Has anyone had a go at building this and using it?

#2 ·
Despite years of meeting German-language Rover and MG fans, can't say I've met Dieter Koennecke before http://www.lame-delegation.de/mgf-net.de/index.htm http://www.mgboard.de/ . So I have not heard whether his ideas work.

Would I be right in thinking the mod is aimed at the MGF so belongs in that section? Maybe you'll get some help there (i.e. dear mods please move this :dddc: :lol: )

Mind you, surely his car's reg isn't HGF? :lol:

(no, HEF is Bad Hersfeld near the (former) East German border in the middle of Germany...)

*(and I'm no expert, but is that car with four headlamps actually a TF?)

#6 ·
I did think about it a while back but decided against it, by the time I had sourced all the bits then spent the time building it, it would just not be worth it for the occassional pump up needed!

Easier just to get the local garage to do it or look out for a second hand one on ebay.

#7 ·
At last - an on topic reply...

Our "F" needs pumping up every 6 months or so (can't find any leaks) and at ~£30 a go for paying a garage to do it I was looking at buying a brand new pump (on the basis that after 5 years a brand new one will have paid for itself and if the "F" is sold before then I can sell it to recover any outstanding amount) when I came across the DIY one via Google.

Must admit I think the £40 stated in the instructions is a bit optimistic but I might just have a trip down to the local hydraulic hose and fittings supplier and price up the parts for interest sake.

#9 ·