MG-Rover.org Forums banner

180 V6 Engine Noise

11K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  stamford 
#1 ·
Hi all got an MG ZS 180 2002 with 72000 miles, and it has started recently making what seems to be a tapping noise at all engine revolutions and temperatures. Im an advanced driver so do maintain revolutions quite high all the time but generally speaking most cars thrive on this kind of treatment. I put in GTX Magnatec to try to lubricate the valves and pistons and eleviate the noise but to no avail. I have also noticed flat spots on several occasions which has required me to fully open the drive to overcome the problem. Another symtom I feel is worth mentioning is I can hear what sounds like the inlet manifold sucking quite hard when at slow speeds. This is my first V6 so not sure what to do next. Your help is much appreciated!

#6 ·
IAM Senior Group Observer and done some RoSPa training too. Also been out with the local traffic cops and Police Class 1 Instructors at Tulliallan Police College in Fife, very worthwhile endevour can honestly say once you have done IAM or RoSPA advanced you are far more confident and alert and your skills are greatly improved. Yeh you are quite correct 1955 diesel I maintain revolutions around the 3-4000 mark most of the time which gives more flexibility and stability when driving.

#9 ·
You will probably find that if it's a constant tapping noise this will be you inlet manifold begining to fail, rather that the VIS valve motors.

This is a known failing on the KV6 and potentially expensive to replace as no-one's currently worked out a successful way of repairing it.

I wouldn't have thought you need to keep driving your car at over 3k rpm all the time, at their is torque at lower engine revs due to it being a V6.

#11 ·
V6 Engine chatter

Lots of threads talk about VIS Valve and Inlet Manifold problems.