MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
mg_zr
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone help a complete novice identify the parts (see pics) I need and where I am likely to find them to buy. From the handbook I think the parts are to do with front fog lights/ indicators.

On the drivers side I think it is the front fog light front that has smashed? Do I need to replace this whole front fog light or can it be reactified by finding one part (along with a bulb)?
MG fog.jpg

On the passengers side, I believe the light bezel is missing? Also would this be a standard colour to match?

MG Bezel.PNG

Appreciate any help.

·
Registered
'06 MG ZR +120 (HQM) '04 MG ZR 105 (IAB)
9,210 Posts
The fog lamp will need replacing as one part as the glass is ealed onto the back casing and not available separately - there should be plenty available from breakers yards or there are usually some on eBay. The lamp units were the same for most of the MG Rover models, only differing in the fixing brackets required on some models (NB, the earlier 1995 to 2000 Rover 200 ones are the same design too, but have a different shaped connector to the wiring loom, and some of this type have been retro-fitted to later cars by previous owners, so worth taking note of the type of connector on yours and ensuring you get one to match). On your ZR the lamp units are fixed direct to the bumper moulding with three self tapping type screws which fasten into spring clips fitted to the plastic of the bumper. Should be fairly easy to swap (although I have experienced the screws getting firmly rusted into the spring clip and needing plenty of penetrating fluid to free them).