MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie to modern MG's (have had a midget and B in the past) and recently got my newly acquired 2004 TF 160 roadworthy tested (In Victoria, Australia). The mechanic mentioned a minor coolant leak, which on investigation appears to be coming from the H/G joint, along with a smidgion of oil, in the area underneath the exhaust manifold. I'm guessing that this is a sign of impending H/G failure and that I'm up for a bit of work in the next few weeks. What recommendations can be made for a supplier - probably from the UK - for a set of gaskets, bolts and any other bits. I'm fairly comfortable doing the mechanical stuff but maybe putting the vvc bits back will be a challenge. . .maybe youtube will be useful.

All advice welcome !!

·
Registered
21 Posts
NSW Australia and I've found TR Spares in Sydney are good, very helpful, however their prices can be higher than Rimmers due to wholesaler markup so almost always use Rimmers now. Triumph Rover Spares in South Australia are wrecking a couple of Fs and TFs, I don't know what they're like on new parts but good on used.

I had HGF shortly after getting my MGF about five years ago, I used the updated elastomer gasket but it started to seep coolant at the gearbox end after about 3.5 years.

Just over a year ago I did the Rover MLS with uprated oil rail. I peened the fire ring area and also ported the head and de-clagged the exhaust manifold while I was in there. A big job, the car was off the road for a month doing it in my spare time and I got the machine shop to re-assemble the head when I ran out of time and energy.

The porting noticeably improved low end torque, although this was on a small valve / MPI head not a VVC. I replaced the bolts the first time but am not convinced it's necessary if they measure up ok. I reused the second set last year. Replace water pump, cam belts and tensioner of course. No coolant loss since.